Uganda: Fun Facts and Fancy Photos

9 Apr

I don’t think that I’ve officially announced this yet, but I will be going to Uganda this summer! Let’s take a look at some of the random information I’ve scavenged from the internet.

First things first: I know you probably all remember the infamous Kony 2012 campaign from last year… so, yes, Uganda was once the home of Joseph Kony and the Lord’s Resistance Army. Take a moment, make a snide Kony joke, chuckle at your own brilliance… ok, let’s move on.

Image

Uganda is a country in East Africa (I’m guessing it’s not purple in real life… although that would be cool).The borders we see today were set as colonial boundaries when Uganda was a protectorate of the British Empire. As was the way, a wide range of ethnic groups with different political systems and cultures were grouped together, and this caused political problems when independence was achieved in 1962.

Image

This is the Ugandan flag. Black = the African people; Yellow = sunshine and vitality; Red = African brotherhood. At the centre, you can see a representation of the grey crowned crane, which is the national symbol, and was the military badge of Ugandan soldiers under the UK.

ImageAnd here’s what a real grey-crowned crane looks like. Pretty nifty!

If you’re interested in more general facts about Uganda, check out my friend Ellen’s blog post: A Gander at Uganda.

Since I dig architecture, let’s take a quick look at some buildings. I want to take a more serious look at Ugandan architecture in a later post, but it’s probably best to wait until I’m actually there. Let’s start with the least traditional first..

ImageThis is the Hilton Hotel in Uganda’s capital city, Kampala. According to the doctor at the travel clinic, you can go swimming in the hotel pool for $5.

ImageThere’s also some Colonial architecture around. This is St. Paul’s Cathedral Namirembe.

ImageIt would seem that more traditional forms are still prevalent in rural settings. When you don’t need to survive snow and cold from October to mid-April (I’m looking at you, Calgary), there’s less need for substantial architecture.

Ok, now I’m just going to post some random pictures from Google Images that have gotten me excited to go!

ImageImageImageImageImage

And now for some music!

Obviously, none of these photos are my own. If any of these are your property, please contact me. I’m happy to give credit where it’s due, or remove images from the post.

One Response to “Uganda: Fun Facts and Fancy Photos”

  1. Annie Wang April 11, 2013 at 2:33 pm #

    Thanks for sharing the architecture photos! That sure is one fancy Hilton hotel. I don’t know too much about flags, but I’m guessing the Ugandan flag must be one of the few national flags around the world with an animal on it – that’s pretty cool! Although it must be hard for school children to draw (I sure did many drawings of the Chinese flag and Canadian flag when I was in elementary).

Leave a Reply

