I have a destination!

30 Apr

It looks like I’ll be going to Masaka! This is the home of the Buganda tribe, the biggest one in Uganda and where the Luganda language originates from. The district is along Lake Victoria, about 3 hours southwest of Kampala, and the town is one of the oldest and biggest in Uganda. Coffee and matooke (like unsweet plantain bananas) are the main crops there.

2 Responses to “I have a destination!”

  1. Jessica April 30, 2013 at 8:11 pm #

    Wow, right on the edge of Lake Victoria! I remember that was one of the only things I knew about the African content after high school because one of our teachers showed us a video about a European fish taking over the lake. Hopefully you’ll make it out there on a boat and can take some pictures!

    • juliamilner April 30, 2013 at 10:24 pm #

      I know,it’s so exciting! I’ll be sure to post photos 🙂

Leave a Reply

