Read Me!!

27 Jul

Those born to wealth, and who have the means of gratifying every wish, know not what is the real happiness of life, just as those who have been tossed on the stormy waters of the ocean on a few frail planks can alone realize the blessings of fair weather.” ~ Alexandre Dumas

As much as I would like you all to believe that I spend each and every day being a world-changing development superstar, fighting injustice at every turn, I actually spend a lot of time just reading. (I read for an hour every evening, and whenever I’m waiting for someone/something.  The time adds up.) So if you want to try out a bit of the JF experience from the comfort of your own home, here are some excellent books I’ve tackled so far, in no particular order:

Up next: A Vindication of the Rights of Woman by Mary Wollstonecraft, and something by Malcolm Gladwell. More book recommendations are always welcome!

2 Responses to “Read Me!!”

  1. Annie Wang July 27, 2013 at 10:10 pm #

    Great list Julia. I read naked economics while JFing too. How did you come across it?

    I also recommend The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill (Canadian!), if you haven’t read it already.

    • juliamilner July 28, 2013 at 5:41 am #

      Andrew gave it to me to read.

      I read the book of negroes a couple summers ago, but i think it might be worth a re-read. Thanks for reminding me of it

Leave a Reply

